Cuttings

Cuttings

A Year in the Garden With Christopher Lloyd

Paperback - 2008
Average Rating:
Rate this:
In the tradition of Gertude Jekyll and Vita Sackville-West, Christopher Lloyd established an English country garden at Great Dixter in East Sussex, where he not only demonstrated his bold ideas but also wrote the books and journalism that profoundly influenced generations of garden-lovers. He constantly reshaped and replanted his garden at Great Dixter, because, as he said: "We don't want to be wishy-washy on the fence." He loved color, praising "extra oomph" and "the immense value of red" - and he hated fashion ("that awful phrase, good taste"). This selection from his columns in the Guardian reflects his passions and challenges, his eagerness to experiment, his appetites, and his prodigious knowledge as a plantsman. His journalism is as vigorous as his gardening style -advising, entertaining, and cajoling his readers as he guides them through the gardening year. Arranged to cover the seasons from January to December, this magical book will delight all who love good gardening and good writing.
Publisher: London : Pimlico, 2008.
ISBN: 9781845951078
1845951077
Branch Call Number: 635.0941
Characteristics: xxv. 390 p., [8] p. of plates : ill. ; 24 cm.
Additional Contributors: Petrie, Ruth
Buckley, Jonathan

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SLPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top