Complete Works 1975-2014

Book - 2014
Rate this:
The Tadao Touch
Ando's complete works from 1975 to 2014

Philippe Starck describes him as a "mystic in a country which is no longer mystic." Philip Drew calls his buildings "land art" as they "struggle to emerge from the earth." He is the only architect to have won the discipline's four most prestigious prizes: the Pritzker, Carlsberg, Praemium Imperiale, and Kyoto Prize.

This thoroughly updated 2014 edition of the Ando monograph celebrates the completely unique aesthetic of one of the world's most acclaimed architects. Spanning his entire career, including such stunning new projects as the Hansol Museum in South Korea and Teatrino in Venice, Italy, it explores his unprecedented use of concrete, wood, water, light, space, and natural forms. A testimony to the diversity and global reach of the Ando touch, featured designs include award-winning private homes, churches, museums, apartment complexes, and cultural spaces throughout Japan, as well as in France, Italy, Spain, and the USA.

Text in English, French, and German
Publisher: Köln : Taschen, [2014]
ISBN: 9783836553940
Branch Call Number: 720.92 ANDO
Characteristics: 720 pages : illustrations (chiefly color) ; 30 cm
Additional Contributors: Andō, Tadao 1941-- Architect


From Library Staff

List - STARchitects
SLPL_FineArts Nov 07, 2016

Japanese architect Tadao Ando is known for his serene concrete buildings, including the Pulitzer Arts Foundation museum here in St. Louis He won the Pritzker Prize in 1995.

From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings

SLPL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

To Top