A Whole New Mind

A Whole New Mind

Moving From the Information Age to the Conceptual Age

Book - 2005
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
New York Times Bestseller

An exciting--and encouraging--exploration of creativity from the author of When: The Scientific Secrets of Perfect Timing

Lawyers. Accountants. Radiologists. Software engineers. That's what our parents encouraged us to become when we grew up. But Mom and Dad were wrong. The future belongs to a very different kind of person with a very different kind of mind. The era of "left brain" dominance, and the Information Age that it engendered, are giving way to a new world in which "right brain" qualities-inventiveness, empathy, meaning-predominate. That's the argument at the center of this provocative and original book, which uses the two sides of our brains as a metaphor for understanding the contours of our times.

In the tradition of Emotional Intelligence and Now, Discover Your Strengths , Daniel H. Pink offers a fresh look at what it takes to excel. A Whole New Mind reveals the six essential aptitudes on which professional success and personal fulfillment now depend, and includes a series of hands-on exercises culled from experts around the world to help readers sharpen the necessary abilities. This book will change not only how we see the world but how we experience it as well.

Publisher: New York : Riverhead Books, 2005.
ISBN: 9781573223089
1573223085
Branch Call Number: 158
Characteristics: 260 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
j
JoA
Jul 03, 2019

As a teacher, just retired in June 2019, I totally agree that the R-Directed aptitudes MUST be worked on in a class setting. I often asked the students why they come to school...besides having to do so because their parents sent them and it is the law, I told them that if they were here for knowledge, they could stay at home. With the internet, who needs a teacher (besides those that have few abilities to self-teach and need that person to guide them); I simply told them that it is what you do with the information that is important and will help you develop further your abilities. You are in control of this! Now that I have read this book, I believe I was guiding them correctly (not perfectly, but...). Now the education system must be more open to this vision and also realize that not all students learn the same way, and this as of the elementary levels, not only once they are in high school or post secondary.

m
MamaLovesBooks
Nov 26, 2018

After 13+ years, this book is a little outdated. There are some comments and references that show their age, but I still got a lot out of this book. It came recommended by my company's CIO just this year, and that was enough of a recommendation for me to read it. There are recommendations at the end of each chapter, and while there are probably 2 (out of dozens) I might do, I'm still glad I read this book. You can read it in short spurts, pick it up, put it down again, repeat. Overall, good, but losing its luster as its general concepts still ring true, but most of the anecdotes and references are old and stale.

j
joelkenichi
Jul 11, 2013

One of the first books I recommend to people getting into todays workforce. The vocabulary alone this book teaches is well worth the read.

j
jcser
Mar 01, 2012

Daniel Pink outlines a professional environment where creativity will be more of an asset than knowledge. He offers a unique perspective of what the entrepreneurs of the future will look like, and how they will shape our world. A fascinating look at how career paths are evolving and changing...who the future millionaires of the world will be and why. A good read.

debwalker Feb 28, 2011

Daniel Pink suggests that western societies are entering a conceptual age where creativity will matter more than ever. A Whole New Mind outlines the six abilities that the future call for—design, story, symphony, empathy, play, and meaning—and explains how to master them.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SLPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top