Freefall

Freefall

A Novel

Book - 2019 | First edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3

A MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2019:

Entertainment Weekly | USA Today | Parade | Cosmopolitan | New York Post | PopSugar | Goodreads

An Amazon Best of the Month Thriller pick

"Exhilarating, emotional -- a thriller charged with genuine depth and raw power." --AJ Finn author of the #1 NYT Bestselling The Woman in the Window

"The corporate malfeasance and shady conspiracies of John Grisham, with the frank feminism of two rounded female protagonists."

-- Entertainment Weekly



When your life is a lie, the truth can kill you

When her fiancé's private plane crashes in the Colorado Rockies, Allison Carpenter miraculously survives. But the fight for her life is just beginning. Allison has been living with a terrible secret, a shocking truth that powerful men will kill to keep buried. If they know she's alive, they will come for her. She must make it home.

In the small community of Owl Creek, Maine, Maggie Carpenter learns that her only child is presumed dead. But authorities have not recovered her body--giving Maggie a shred of hope. She, too, harbors a shameful secret: she hasn't communicated with her daughter in two years, since a family tragedy drove Allison away. Maggie doesn't know anything about her daughter's life now--not even that she was engaged to wealthy pharmaceutical CEO Ben Gardner, or why she was on a private plane.

As Allison struggles across the treacherous mountain wilderness, Maggie embarks on a desperate search for answers. Immersing herself in Allison's life, she discovers a sleek socialite hiding dark secrets. What was Allison running from--and can Maggie uncover the truth in time to save her?

Told from the perspectives of a mother and daughter separated by distance but united by an unbreakable bond, Freefall is a riveting debut novel about two tenacious women overcoming unimaginable obstacles to protect themselves and those they love.

Alternative Title: Free fall
Publisher: New York, NY : Harper, [2019]
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9780062874832
0062874837
Branch Call Number: Fic
Characteristics: 348 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
r
Reads_A_Lot
Jan 16, 2019

Well, survivor stories are my favorite so as soon as I saw this was about a woman surviving a plane crash in the Rockies and then setting off on foot to outrun the bad guys I knew it was my kind of book. As the woman struggles to survive, across the country her mother believing her daughter is dead is trying to unravel the mystery of her daughter’s life over the last 2 years. A review on the back of the book summed it up nicely: a page turner with dueling mother daughter narrators whom you will root for and empathize with as they struggle to survive their harrowing present, come to terms with a troubled past, and fight to find their way home. A good mystery/thriller - I enjoyed it.

jabberbooky Dec 05, 2018

I started FREEFALL because it opens in the Rocky Mountains and ends in Maine and I love both places. I finished it because of its propulsive & tantalizing storyline. I did not see the ending coming!

Hillsboro_JennyM Oct 29, 2018

Fans of Jane Harper's FORCE OF NATURE or Krysten Ritter's BONFIRE will enjoy this fast-paced, character-driven adventure thriller featuring strong female protagonists.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SLPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top