A Simple Favor

A Simple Favor

A Novel

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
6
Rate this:

"Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."--Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author

She's your best friend.

She knows all your secrets.

That's why she's so dangerous.

A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

It starts with a simple favor--an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together--just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.

But Emily doesn't come back. She doesn't answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong--Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily's husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It's the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.

Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing--not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor--is as simple as it seems.

A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense--a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.

Publisher: New York, NY : Harper, [2017]
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9780062497772
0062497774
Branch Call Number: Fic
Characteristics: 298 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

j
jachayden
Sep 13, 2017

Mix the plot of Gone Girl, an open disdain for women who are not mothers (why?), an open disdain for British people (WHY?), and a bit of incest, and you'll get this book.

The main character was so unbelievably stupid I wanted to keep reading on because it made me feel better about myself. I'm not pleased by how self-righteous the character is about being a mother. There's more to life than your 5-year-old. This book also portrays British people, especially British men, as stereotypically dumb, dull, stupid, selfish, cheaters, and self-conscious to the point of not being able to stand up for themselves. As a British person who is verrrry happily childless, I was deeply insulted by the implications of the author and characters throughout the story.

Story starts out a lot like Gone Girl, and ends a lot like Gone Girl, with a whole bunch of not necessarily necessary muddling through the middle. Confusing towards the end.

b
Blabbermouth
Sep 01, 2017

It certainly drew me in & I kept going because I wanted to know how it ended but as I entered further into it I began to find the characters more unbelievable. The gullibility of the friend Stephanie was convincing enough until she started revealing her own secrets and still continued to stay along side even when she had learned nothing was as it seemed. Sean was to weak to be believable but Emily didn't seem completed somehow? It was a mystery that was outside of the box which made it appealing to me.

t
therapymutt
Aug 08, 2017

Gone girl copy

w
wilqser
Jun 01, 2017

Totally disappointment here - just a waste of time. No character integrity - even their flaws are unbelievable; no plausible plot line; unrealistic cop procedure; and a storyline that leaves you up in the air. Not one of the best books I've read so far - to put it mildly.

AL_KATI Apr 17, 2017

I was drawn in right away, but about halfway through I figured out what was going to happen. There have been a lot (A LOT) of unreliable narrators in fiction recently, so this one didn't feel as fresh as I would have liked.

g
gogo12127
Mar 31, 2017

I read just over seventy pages of this. I just could not get into it. The self-absorbed narrator of the story was a total bore and really got on my nerves. Someone else might have a different take, though.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SLPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top