Dying for Christmas

Dying for Christmas

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
4
Rate this:
Out Christmas shopping one December afternoon, Jessica Gould meets the charming Dominic Lacey and impulsively agrees to go home with him for a drink. What follows is a Twelve Days of Christmas from hell as Lacey holds Jessica captive, forcing her to wear his missing wife's gowns and eat lavish holiday meals. Each day he gifts her with one item from his twisted past--his dead sister's favorite toy, disturbing family photos, a box of teeth. As the days pass and the "gifts" become darker and darker, Jessica realizes that Lacey has a plan for her, and he never intends to let her go.But Jessica has a secret of her own ... a secret that may just mean she has a chance to make it out alive.
Publisher: New York : Pegasus Crime, 2016.
Edition: First Pegasus Books hardcover edition.
ISBN: 9781681772615
1681772612
Branch Call Number: Fic
Characteristics: 392 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

ChristchurchLib Jan 08, 2017

Bored by her relationship with her boyfriend, Jessica Gould is charmed enough by the good-looking stranger she meets while shopping on Christmas Eve to accept his offer of a drink at his place. Unfortunately, what he has in mind for her involves torture, starvation, and psychological mind games. Jessica -- whose family belatedly reports her missing -- is sure she's going to die, and her awful experience unfolds alongside that of the police investigator looking for her. While there are some plot similarities to Pierre Lemaitre's Alex, this twisty, disturbing read has surprises all its own.

t
tink05
Dec 21, 2016

It starts off kinda slow then half way threw it throws a curb ball at you that was a pleasent surprise. But overall the ending is what killed this some for me.

y
Yellagirlgc
Dec 15, 2016

After finishing Dying For Christmas my jaw is still hanging around my chest area, mouth wide open and eyes wide with shock. This book had more twists than a corkscrew...literally. The storyline was completely original brought out the best in this psychological suspense. There were more than a few surprises and thats always a great thing for a bookworm like myself.
Jessica Gold is such an interestingly weird person. While Dominic Lacey is wickedly bipolar. Detective Constable Kim has the weight of the world on her shoulder. Everyone played their part in making this a 5 star rating.

DBRL_ANNEG Dec 14, 2016

Don't ever judge a book by its title. I laughed at the title when I first saw this, but thought "Why not?"--I could use a little cheesy holiday reading. Turns out this book is not the least bit cheesy. And not really the book to get you in the mood for the holiday. It's one of the best thrillers I've read recently. I read this in about one and a half days, and stayed up way past my bedtime on a school night so I could finish it. I'm still tired because of this book. But it was worth it. This book is twisty and dark. And just when you think you might know what's up, things twist again. I highly recommend it and will be looking for more by this author. Readers who enjoyed "Gone Girl" and "The Girl on the Train" should check this one out.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SLPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top