Moody Bitches

Moody Bitches

The Truth About the Drugs You're Taking, the Sleep You're Missing, the Sex You're Not Having, and What's Really Making You Crazy

Paperback - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1

A groundbreaking guide for women of all ages that shows their natural moodiness is a strength, not a weakness

As women, we learn from an early age that our moods are a problem, an annoyance to be stuffed away. But our bodies are wiser than we imagine. Moods are a finely tuned feedback system that allows us to be more empathic, intuitive, and aware of our own capabilities. If we deny our emotionality, we deny the breadth of our talents.

Yet millions of American women are medicating away their emotions with psychiatric drugs whose effects are more far-reaching than most of us realize. And even if we don't pop a pill, women everywhere are numbing their emotions with food, alcohol, and a host of addictive behaviors that deny the wisdom of our bodies and keep us from addressing the real issues we face.

Psychiatrist Julie Holland knows there is a better way. In Moody Bitches , she shares insider information about the drugs we're being offered and the direct link between food and mood, and she offers practical advice on sex, exercise, and sleep strategies, as well as some surprisingly effective natural therapies. In the tradition of Our Bodies, Our Selves , this groundbreaking guide will forge a much needed new path in women's health--and offer women invaluable information on how to live better, and be more balanced, at every stage of life.

Publisher: New York : Penguin Books, 2016.
Copyright Date: 2015
ISBN: 9780143107903
0143107909
Branch Call Number: 616.8527/0082 23
616.8527
Characteristics: 360 pages ; 21 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
j
jannylegs
Jul 18, 2016

Most of what the author writes about diet, exercise, etc., I already knew, but I liked the sassy way she packaged the info, stressing that it's ok to be all over the map sometimes; our varying moods are important and have a lot to tell us.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SLPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top