The Dinosaur Disaster

The Dinosaur Disaster

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Fans of Ada Twist, Scientist , will want to enroll in Dr. Cosmic's class of clever monsters at the Mad Scientist Academy as they solve the greatest challenges in science in this perfect blend of adventure and exploration.

Welcome to Mad Scientist Academy! The first day of school is always exciting, and Dr. Cosmic's new students can't wait to get started. After their teacher reveals that their school pet, Oscar, is a dinosaur, they quickly realize Dr. Cosmic has an unusual teaching style. To find Oscar, the class has to follow the clues through the realistic dinosaur exhibit Dr. Cosmic designed and built over the summer. But when a malfunction causes the robotic dinosaurs to come alive, this prehistoric exhibit feels a little too real!

" Dr. Cosmic is plainly a colleague of Ms. Frizzle, and the mix of pithy banter, tumultuous field-trip mishaps, and science fact is as familiar as it is winning. Fans of the Frizz will be dino-delighted. Mad fun." -- Kirkus Reviews, Starred

" Like Joanna Cole and Bruce Degen's 'Magic School Bus' series (Scholastic), the use of a school setting, a quirky teacher, and wild hands-on learning situations provides an engaging blend of humor, adventure, and information. " -- School Library Journal

"One of Summer's Must-Read Children's Books."

Kids' Indie Next List

From the Hardcover edition.
Publisher: New York : Crown Books for Young Readers, [2015]
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9780553523751
Branch Call Number: Graphic J 567.9
Characteristics: 1 volume (unpaged) : chiefly color illustrations ; 29 cm.


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Nov 25, 2017

This is a great book, and teaches without being boring! Any dinosaur lover (or mad scientist) will love this book! Great story, characters, and illustrations!

Nov 03, 2016

My kids loved this book. It is illustrated somewhat like a comic book and has plenty of educational facts about dinosaurs all while incorporating Halloween characters of a wearwolf, vampire, etc.


Add Age Suitability

CorteMaderaStaff_Judi thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 6 and 9

Nov 03, 2016

mds4906 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 3 and 8


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at SLPL

To Top