Finding Jake

Finding Jake

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
9

A heart-wrenching yet ultimately uplifting story of psychological suspense in which a parent is forced to confront what he does--and does not--know about his teenage son, in the vein of Reconstructing Amelia, Defending Jacob, and We Need to Talk about Kevin.

While his successful wife goes off to her law office each day, Simon Connolly takes care of their kids, Jake and Laney. Now that they are in high school, the angst-ridden father should feel more relaxed, but he doesn't. He's seen the statistics, read the headlines. And now, his darkest fear is coming true. There has been a shooting at school.

Simon races to the rendezvous point, where he's forced to wait. Do they know who did it? How many victims were there? Why did this happen? One by one, parents are led out of the room to reunite with their children. Their numbers dwindle, until Simon is alone.

As his worst nightmare unfolds, and Jake is the only child missing, Simon begins to obsess over the past, searching for answers, for hope, for the memory of the boy he raised, for mistakes he must have made, for the reason everything came to this. Where is Jake? What happened in those final moments? Is it possible he doesn't really know his son? Or he knows him better than he thought?

Brilliantly paced, Finding Jake explores these questions in a tense and emotionally wrenching narrative. Harrowing and heartbreaking, surprisingly healing and redemptive, it is a story of faith and conviction, strength, courage, and love that will leave readers questioning their own lives, and those they think they know.

Publisher: New York, NY : William Morrow, [2015]
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9780062339485
0062339486
9780062339515
0062339516
Branch Call Number: Fic
Characteristics: 264 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

n
natcin7
Jun 20, 2018

August 25 2015
If you are a parent or a grandparent, you must read this book. This is a cautionary tale told by a stay-at-home Dad who questions almost every day his choice to be at home with his kids. He is not sure of his role and doubts his parenting skills. Then one day his family is turned upside down by a school shooting. Is his son involved? Did he ignore signs of trouble? Is he culpable as a too indulgent parent? These are just some of the issues explored in this realistic story that is lately in our news too often. Mr.Reardon writes with passion and truth about one father's search for validation in the aftermath of an unthinkable tragic event. And he challenges us to ask: "Do you really know your child?" NC

CMLReads_Kristin Sep 06, 2016

Worth a read as a counterpoint to We Need to Talk about Kevin. An interesting take on the media's ability to take control of the narrative in instances of mass violence.

p
pktab
Jun 16, 2016

This was a fascinating story! It had so much in it. It starts with a school shooting and that sucks you in right away. It's about a stay-at-home dad. He faces many obstacles, those real and imagined. He's a wonderful father doing his best to raise his kids in the best way possible.
Great read!

logo Jan 18, 2016

A gripping psychological novel that sticks with you.

k
karpomarx
Dec 15, 2015

Relevant book for our times, if not uncomfortable to read at times for it's honesty and introspection as a parent. Quick read. You will not want to put it down. Highly recommend.

NicoleAgar Oct 19, 2015

AMAZING! What would you do if you heard there was a shooting at your childrens school, but they couldn't find your son.....then they tell you he was involved?
I was hooked from the start!

karcoldelharvic5 Apr 18, 2015

Really trends with todays happenings

dossiere Apr 16, 2015

SUPERB NOVEL

multcolib_karene Mar 22, 2015

A wrenching story - is our child capable of a horrendous act? Is it our fault? Have we lost both our child and everything else that is important to us? A very powerful book.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
SLPL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top