The Kiss of Deception

The Kiss of Deception

Book - 2014 | First edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
28
2
2
 …

In a society steeped in tradition, Princess Lia's life follows a preordained course. As First Daughter, she is expected to have the revered gift of sight--but she doesn't--and she knows her parents are perpetrating a sham when they arrange her marriage to secure an alliance with a neighboring kingdom--to a prince she has never met.

On the morning of her wedding, Lia flees to a distant village. She settles into a new life, hopeful when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive--and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deception abounds, and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets--even as she finds herself falling in love.
The Kiss of Deception is the first book in Mary E. Pearson's Remnant Chronicles.

Publisher: New York, New York : Henry Holt and Company, 2014.
Edition: First edition.
ISBN: 9780805099232
0805099239
Branch Call Number: Y Fic
Characteristics: 489 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion


Featured Blogs and Events

Kiss of Deception

The Kiss of Deception is an amazing young adult fantasy novel. It is book 1 of 3 in Mary E. Pearson's Remnant Chronicles series. There is an amazing mix of adventure, romance, suspense and action to look forward to! One thing about this novel that I really love is how it hooked me. I don't want to go to far into the plot as to ruin it for you, but this novel revolves around a princess named L… (more)


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
r
red_cat_9423
Aug 07, 2020

interesting

I can’t believe I’ve been sleeping on this series for so long. It has everything I love: fantastic females, swoony love interests, world building to make your knees weak.

Lia is an incredible protagonist. She’s smart, rebellious, and brave, but all she wants is love, and that’s not something that’s belittled over the course of the story. She wants a life far away from what she’s born into, and she will do anything she can to get it.

Enter, the assassin and the prince and THE BEST PLOT TWIST IVE READ IN FOREVER. I will just say that I loved the boys for such different reasons, but also #teamRafe forever. Seriously, love triangles are overdone, but this one is absolutely worth the heartache and the angst and the swoon.

The world building was so well done. Although it moves slow at the beginning, this really sets you up in the world and allows you to get used to things along with Lia and Pauline. (Side note: the side characters though??? Pauline is AMAZING and I will die for her if I have to.) The journey through the last half of the book is so colourful, I can truly picture this world and I love it.

I need to find out more about Lia, Rafe, and Kaden and their story. Loved this book.

s
SabahatAmmar
Mar 25, 2020

The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson is an absolutely amazing novel! I truly enjoyed the whole book. Kiss of Deception is about a Princess who decisions were made were always made for her since birth. But, when the decision of whom she marries was made it was too much for her. She desired to fall in love and live a normal life. So, she ran away with her friend ran away to a town. There, she works in a tavern. Where she meets to young men who are interested in her and she is interested in them. Little does she know but the reader does is that one was an assassin sent to kill her and one is the prince she rejected. Lia soon discovers painful, secrets that seem unreal as well as love. A heart throbbing romance bound to leave the reader dying to know what happens. The novel Kiss of Deception is truly a great book. Filled with a truly good romance which can be almost impossible to find. It's comprised of action, adventure, secrets, and betrayal. The writing is perfect, containing enough description to be satisfied but room for imagining, not too quickly paced nor slow. The author has done a spectacular job in writing this novel. And the next books get even better! I highly, highly recommend this book to anyone who loves mystery, action, adventure and romance. Even if you don't like romance this book, this whole series will change your mind.

t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Aug 11, 2019

Princess Lia has her whole life planned out against her wishes. She never quite felt like she belonged as a princess or a first daughter, not being extremely feminine or having the power of sight all first daughters were supposed to have. When her parents marry her off to a distant kingdom and a man she’s never met before to cover up her lack of special power, Lia flees alongside her most trusted maid. They escape to a beautiful port village and start a new life as normal people who are free from the pressures of royalty. There, she meets two intriguing and handsome men and starts trusting them and even loving one of them. However, unbeknownst to her, both know her true identity and both are on a mission involving Lia. I really loved this novel since it incorporated and mixed fantasy, romance and adventure together flawlessly. The characters are all really unique and interesting, while the plot progressed at a nice pace. Additionally, there were many twists that kept me engaged. I am excited to read the next book in this series and would definitely recommend it. Rating: 5/5. @Iron_Rose of The Hamilton Public Library's Teen Review Board

PimaLib_ChristineR Feb 19, 2019

I'm glad I gave this book a chance, and if you're a fan of YA fantasy, I think you'll find something to like. So Pearson starts off with a gimmick: Lia is a princess on the run from her obligations. Working as a barmaid in a little backwater village she meets Rafe and Kaden. The two men don't know each other, but both work to get themselves into Lia's good graces over several weeks. The catch is that one is an assassin sent to kill her and the other is the prince she was supposed to marry. Pearson alternates chapters where we hear from each of the men, known only as "the assassin" or "the prince" and Pearson keeps us guessing as to who is whom.

I'll be honest here: I didn't like the gimmick. I want to get to know and care about the characters. Lia is a princess willing to sacrifice her country to war to be free of a marriage. NOT because she's averse to getting married so much as that he may be... old and/or ugly! Gasp! (I don't think anyone will be surprised that both the prince and assassin are young and hot). So I wasn't caring for her too much, and we don't really find out anything about the two men because the author is playing games. In fact, I was incredulous that two men could room together for a couple of months and still know absolutely nothing about the other, other than "I don't think that guy is what he seems." And, like Throne of Glass, we have an assassin who doesn't seem able to do his job. So, throwing in unlikable and unknowable characters, an awful title and awful cover, why is this worth reading?

Pearson saves the novel by giving up the masquerade. Once the characters are revealed several things happen. First is that Lia is forced to grow up through a series of events. Pearson shows her confusion and then acceptance that the world is more than just her, and is even more than what she learned in a palace. She gets a sharp tongue and a tough spirit. And by moving the story beyond one little town, Pearson is able to bring in political intrigue and effective world building. By the end, I was hooked and looking forward to the next installment, Regency romance cover or no.

g
goddessbeth
Jan 18, 2019

Even though I own this in hardcover, I decided to listen to the audiobook, because I felt I'd get through it faster that way. Probably not a good idea in hindsight, because of the one moment of narrative 'twist' that happens (and with an audiobook, you can't flip back several chapters in disbelief, trying to figure out how the author fooled you. I also was stressed during this time, which always colors my impression of books

Overall, this book was.....ok. Just ok. The world building was the highlight- the author makes each culture feel fully fleshed out, even though we have the bias of the story taking place within only one country. For me, the characters just weren't interesting enough to really be engaging, so I was more of a passive observer of this tale. There's the love triangle aspect (which had me cringing by its very nature, as well as the way it was quasi-resolved- if love triangles don't drive you nuts, it probably won't be an issue for you).

I wish this one had lived up the hype, but it wasn't poorly written or anything. Just lackluster, for me.

DPLjosie Nov 29, 2018

Good fantasy novel, but what makes this book stand out: the mystery of who is our prince, and who is our assassin. You can figure it out if you pay attention, but if you're skimming it might be a mystery up 'til the end.

JCLS_Ashland_Kristin Oct 16, 2018

Sweetly romantic fantasy...perfect for fans of Sarah Maas

happyreader64 Jul 08, 2018

Princess Jezelia (Lia) is the first daughter of Morrigan. A Kingdom with rich tradition. Jezelia steals documents from the Chancellor and runs away from a arranged marriage. She begins a new life in another distant community when two mysterious strangers show up.
She has to sort out lies and deceptions. And starts to fall in love.
This book was more than I expected. The author captures and draws the reader into this fantasy universe and makes the characters all unique and real.
I would recommend this first book and the other two to a young adult or adult who would like a fantastic fantasy with believable characters, extensive plot and that has mild content.
In addition the audio is exceptional.
I will be reading more of Mary E. Pearson’s books.

MelifluousView Jan 19, 2018

I enjoyed Lia and her adventures as a regular person. And despite her smart attempts to disguise her disappearance, I liked that there were a few people that did track her down. Pearson's chapter structure which hides which of the young men is the assassin and which is the prince made quite an impression on me. Just like life, we don't know people's motives just by looking.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability
k
KyraJR
Dec 04, 2017

KyraJR thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

BooksHoldUnsaidSecrets Sep 13, 2014

BooksHoldUnsaidSecrets thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Notices

Add Notices
r
red_cat_9423
Aug 08, 2020

Sexual Content: Kissing of areas not including the lips or cheeks

k
KyraJR
Dec 04, 2017

Coarse Language: Some swearing when characters are angry.

Quotes

Add a Quote
h
huddybuddy
Jul 17, 2016

“If I could only reach out and touch the stars, I would know everything. I would understand.”

m
matthews
Jun 21, 2015

Ve Feray Daclara au Gaudrel

Summary

Add a Summary
k
KyraJR
Oct 10, 2017

Princess Lia flees her home land to escape a wedding that hasn't been approved by the bride herself. With the help of good friends and determination, Lia will make a new name for herself, one way or another, despite being thrown into a raging war outside and in herself. And who knows? She might even find love along the way.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SLPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top