Murder in the Afternoon

Murder in the Afternoon

Large Print - 2014
Average Rating:
5
Rate this:

An intricate plot in the post-WWI English countryside and Frances Brody's "refreshingly complex heroine" ("Kirkus") combine in "Murder in the Afternoon," an absorbing mystery perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Agatha Christie.

Dead one minute...

Young Harriet and her brother Austin have always been scared of the quarry where their stone mason father works. So when they find him dead on the cold ground, they rush off quickly to look for some help.

Alive the next?

When help arrives, however, the quarry is deserted and there is no sign of the body. Were the children mistaken? Is their father not dead? Did he simply get up and run away?

A sinister disappearing act

It seems like another unusual case requiring the expertise of Kate Shackleton--and Mary Jane, the children's mother, is adamant that only she can help. But Mary Jane is hiding something--a secret from Kate's past that raises the stakes and puts both Kate and her family at risk.

Publisher: Waterville, Maine : Thorndike Press, 2014.
Edition: Large print edition.
ISBN: 9781410468598
1410468593
Branch Call Number: Large Print X
Characteristics: 531 pages ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

r
reeread
Oct 07, 2017

A female private investigator in the course of uncovering what happened to a stonemason, also finds family members and continues to search for her husband who was declared 'Missing presumed dead' in WWI five years previously. I wasn't sure whether I would continue with this series after 'Dying in the Wool', but after 'A Medal for Murder' and ' Murder in the Afternoon', I will definitely be continuing.

s
sommarsharp
Feb 27, 2017

Loving this series. Kate Shackleton is a modern woman living just after WWI. Her intuition and logical mind help her solve crimes the "authorities" (including her father and would-be fiance) cannot.

m
maipenrai
Nov 09, 2016

The third book in the Kate Shackleton series

LMILAB Sep 12, 2015

Very good murder mystery with lots of action. Love the heroine of this book and series with a little wit, nosiness and lots of courage who never gives up. Love the kindness of her heart and thoughtfulness.

mpalik Jul 07, 2014

Nice new British series. Takes place just after WWI.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SLPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top