The Wednesday Daughters

The Wednesday Daughters

A Novel

Book - 2013 | Frist edition.
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
In the tradition of Kristin Hannah and Karen Joy Fowler, Meg Waite Clayton, bestselling author of The Wednesday Sisters, returns with an enthralling new novel of mothers, daughters, and the secrets and dreams passed down through generations.
 
It is early evening when Hope Tantry arrives at the small cottage in England's pastoral Lake District where her mother, Ally, spent the last years of her life. Ally--one of a close-knit group of women who called themselves the Wednesday Sisters--had used the cottage as a writer's retreat while she worked on her unpublished biography of Beatrix Potter, yet Hope knows little about her mother's time there. Traveling with Hope are friends Anna Page and Julie, first introduced as little girls in The Wednesday Sisters, now grown women grappling with issues of a different era. They've come to help Hope sort through her mother's personal effects, yet what they find is a tangled family history--one steeped in Lake District lore.
 
Hope finds a stack of Ally's old notebooks tucked away in a hidden drawer, all written in a mysterious code. As she, Julie, and Anna Page try to decipher Ally's writings--the reason for their encryption, their possible connection to the Potter manuscript--they are forced to confront their own personal struggles: Hope's doubts about her marriage, Julie's grief over losing her twin sister, Anna Page's fear of commitment in relationships. And as the real reason for Ally's stay in England comes to light, Hope, Julie, and Anna Page reach a new understanding about the enduring bonds of family, the unwavering strength of love, and the inescapable pull of the past.

Praise for The Wednesday Daughters
 
"The present and the past intertwine beautifully and inevitably in Meg Waite Clayton's winning follow-up to  The Wednesday Sisters . From the beguiling Lake District setting, to a completely charming (and spot-on) portrayal of Beatrix Potter, to the way the Wednesday daughters strive to unpuzzle both their own choices and their mothers' legacies, every layer of the novel delivers.  The Wednesday Daughters  is utterly rich and satisfying." --Paula McLain ,  New York Times  bestselling author of  The Paris Wife
 
"A captivating novel about mothers and daughters, lifelong friendships, love affairs, betrayals, and redemption. Clayton transports us to the English Lake District, an area rich in literary history and romance, where her characters' secrets unfold in ways both satisfying and surprising." --J. Courtney Sullivan ,  New York Times  bestselling author of  Commencement, Maine,  and  The Engagements
 
"Beautiful storytelling . . . [Meg Waite Clayton] delves deep into the human heart . . . and [will] keep you hanging on until the very last page is turned." -- RT Book Reviews

" The Wednesday Daughters is a bewitching escape of a novel. The characters became my beloved companions. I wanted it never to end." --Elin Hilderbrand , author of Beautiful Day
 
"Heartwarming . . . filled with memorable characters." -- Bookreporter

Selected as Recommended Summer Reading by Chicago Tribune * Fort Worth Star-Telegram * San Jose Mercury News
Publisher: New York : Ballantine Books, [2013]
Edition: Frist edition.
ISBN: 9780345530288
0345530284
9780345538840
Branch Call Number: Fic
Characteristics: 291 pages : illustrations; 25 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
SLPL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top