Hand Me Down

Hand Me Down

A Novel

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
A tough, tender, debut novel, in the tradition of Dorothy Allison and Janet Fitch, Hand Me Down is the unforgettable story of a girl who travels between California and Utah in search of her true family, having never been loved best of all.

Fourteen-year-old Elizabeth Reid has spent her life protecting her sister, Jaime, from their parents' cruel mistakes. Their father, who'd rather work the system than a job, pours every dollar into his many vices, denying his daughters the shoes and clothing they need. Their mother, once a loving parent, is going through a post-post-adolescent rebellious streak and finds love with a dangerous ex-con. When she chooses starting a new family over raising her first-born girls, Elizabeth and Jaime are separated and forced to rely on the begrudging kindness of increasingly distant relatives.

A string of broken promises that begins with Liz's mother swearing, "I would never hurt you, Liz. You're family," propels her between guest beds in two states searching for a safe home. All the while, Liz is burdened by her stake in a bleak pact with a deceitful adult: to tell the truth about the darkest of her circumstances will cost her the ability to shelter Jaime. As Liz spirals into the abyss of fear and shame that haunts her sleepless nights, can she break free from her bonds in time to fight for her life?

Thorne writes with a command of language that is at once affecting and enticing. Her debut is the kind of voice-driven reading experience fiction lovers crave.

Publisher: New York : Dutton, c2012.
ISBN: 9780525952688
0525952683
Branch Call Number: Fic
Characteristics: 311 p. ; 22 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

LMcShaneCLE May 09, 2012

I highly recommend this title--it's definitely PG-13. The book realistically portrays a young girl struggling with her identity and coping with dysfunctional parents and a sexual predator. All of the characters are vivid and believable--with many opportunities for discussion group topics like addiction, alcoholism, body image, bullying.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at SLPL.

Try searching for Hand Me Down to see if SLPL owns related versions of the work.


Suggest for Purchase

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top