The Truth About Mr. Darcy

The Truth About Mr. Darcy

Paperback - 2011
Average Rating:
2
2
1
Rate this:

A sexy, compelling Pride & Prejudice " what if"-perfect for fans of Death Comes to Pemberley.

The truth always has consequences......

Mr. Darcy has a dilemma. Should he tell the truth about his old nemesis George Wickham in order to protect the good citizens of Meryton from Wickham's lies and deceits? Doing so will force Darcy to reveal family secrets that he'd prefer never come to light. The alternative is keeping the man's criminal nature to himself and hoping he leaves the area before doing significant harm.

But as Wickham's attentions to Elizabeth increase, Darcy knows if he's to win the one woman he's set his heart on, he's going to have to make one of the most difficult decisions of his life. And what he ultimately does sets in motion a shocking train of events neither he nor Elizabeth could possibly have predicted.

Publisher: Naperville, Ill. : Sourcebooks Landmark, c2011.
ISBN: 9781402246135
1402246137
Branch Call Number: Fic
Characteristics: 437 p. ; 20 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

Another_Opinion Jan 01, 2015

I like to write these things based on a comparison of the blurb on the back cover to the actual contents of the novel. The blurb would suggest that Darcy had to think long and hard about informing Elizabeth about Wickham. Not so. The results of his doing so did indeed alter the course of their courtship, starting within a few minutes. Mr Collins is horrid, Wickham is at his worst, Mr Hurst is shown in a better light than is usual. The author likes to use compromising circumstances to spice up her story, which is fine, but uses too much sex for my taste. Apart from that, a good story line.

Oh, and bye the bye . . the blurb above (at this writing) says "perfect for fans of Death Comes to Pemberley." If this had been the original story, Death Comes to Pemberley would have had to have been a totally different story as this one absolutely precludes the story in that novel. Just sayin' . .

baydawg Jun 17, 2011

The what-if in this story is Darcy's pulling Elizabeth aside and warning her immediately about Wickham's character. That doesn't stop Lydia, and in this story Wickham gets his just desserts.

Quotes

Add a Quote

Another_Opinion Jan 01, 2015

"Who was that woman, and what the deuce did she do with our Caroline?" - Mr Hurst (pg. 393)

crystal_dark Dec 06, 2011

"Well, well, Mr. Darcy, you look exactly like a young boy who has just had his favorite toy taken away from him." (pg. 77)

Summary

Add a Summary

crystal_dark Dec 06, 2011

In this tale, Mr. Darcy confesses the truth about George Wickham right from the start, warning Elizabeth and the rest of Meryton about Wickham's despicable character. Will his honesty change the way Elizabeth feels about him and his previous poor behavior? Will he still have to transform himself to win her love? And what will happen when scandal erupts? (Barnes & Noble Summary)

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at SLPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top